Tags

, ,

Greetings from sunny Colville, Wa! You know, I’m pretty sure that Colville in the summer is the best place on earth to spend long, hot evenings. I am grateful to be here.

In other news, I’m pretty sure that I’ve shouted from most rooftops that I’m going to Beira in a few weeks, but in case someone missed that, this first update will simply be a redundant catch-up update to get anyone who cares on the same page. Hopefully this blog will get more exciting as the summer wears on….

Last summer/fall launched a very weird season in my life which resulted in a fairly long and dark night of the soul. But in the midst of all of that, one afternoon last August found me and my friend Brook sitting on a picnic table in the park. I hadn’t moved back to the ville yet, and I really didn’t know what I was supposed to be doing with myself. well, to make a long story short, that day I told Brook that my goal was to be in Africa by the spring. No matter what. But I really had no idea how that was going to happen. A few days later I decided to move back to Colville and I was asked to be a part of a team going to Mozambique, which is the country just north of South Africa bordering Zimbabwe. We have a friend in Beira who has an orphanage. Her name is Lee Trueblood and she’s probably one of my heros. Not because she’s any better or greater than anyone else, but because she does a lot of listening and a lot of trusting. And she wasn’t afraid to go with what was in her heart. I still remember the day six years ago that a friend and I went to her house to help her pack up and move out of her house. That summer she sold all of her stuff and just moved to Africa! I remember holding this piece of fabric from one of her travels and thinking, “I wonder how long it will take until I get there…” I’ve kept that silly fabric ever since in faith that this would be one desire of my heart that would be fulfilled eventually.

HOB girls doing laundry

So here I am, sitting at Talk and Coffee, looking at Visa stuff and planning out my support letter. I decided that just going on the basic 10 day trip was not what I was supposed to do this time, so after talking to Lee, my pastor, and my boss (who threatened to fire me if I DIDN’T take this opportunity), I decided to stay for a month. No, I did not end up going in the spring. The timing was not right and I still had some stuff to go through this spring. I really have no idea what to expect, and though I have done a bit of traveling, it has mostly been in Latin America, so I really don’t have many preconceived notions about what to expect. All I know for sure is that I don’t want Malaria. So I’m working on that right now as well.
The orphanage that I will be spending most of the month of September in is called House of Blessing. If you have time, check out Lee’s myspace.

The address is

http://www.myspace.com/hobmoz

The site has some fabulous videos and photos, and Lee shares about her kids. There’s also a youtube video that shows the road from HOB into the city of Beira. It’s long, but just play around with it.

So what am I doing in Africa, you ask? Well, I guess you’ll just have to wait for my next blog. …not because of suspense, but because I’m sick of writing and I’m out of time….!
Peace!

HOB girls doing some laundry

HOB girls doing some laundry

