Last night I celebrated the Passover meal with a group of friends with which I live in community. There’s just something about the unleavened bread, wine, and sacrament that, upon walking into this holy moment, speaks loudly without having to break the sacred silence. Sitting down into the seat of this moment is like holding breath, but I almost missed it with my quick mouth and busy mind. As we started to center and gather ourselves from each of our four winds of life (mine being work, love, the future, and post-it notes), I realized how close I had come to driving right on through my friends’ sun-lit kitchen on my way to the next thought.

What could possibly have been a more important meditation during that still moment than to dwell on the fact that salvation has come upon us? That the Israelites knew something was up, but they had no idea on the massive breadth of impact this evening held for their futures? That history repeated itself thousands of years later with striking precision? That the blood they brushed from the veins of a lamb would be replaced from the veins of a minority who was truly the King of humanity? And how we, now, in this greatly progressed 21st century, are just as belovedly bewildered as those Israelites and unaware as those disciples as to the time in history that we are in… Awaken my heart o Lamb- that I would watch and not miss Your still beauty in my busy ugly…

