Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It stopped raining, finally- but now I’m so cozied into my little home, I don’t want to go outside now…besides, that sun lies a little- I know it’s still cold out. So instead, I’ve been doing a little studying this morning and I am just so entranced by Madeleine Vionnet right now that I thought it would be fun to give the lady some respect. (I wonder what she would have thought of Etsy?)

MV was a French fashion designer who lived from 1876-1975. (She lived till 99! Sorry-just pointing out the obvious…)She was called the “Queen of the bias cut” and “the architect among dressmakers”, Vionnet is best-known today for her elegant Grecian-style dresses and for introducing the bias cut to the fashion world.

This is the “architect” MV at work- forever hushing my complaints about not yet having a dress form. Crazy woman…I love looking at turn of the century fashion photography. It’s often so theatrical and such yummy morsels of sensuality in every way- the texture of the old b&w’s, the make-up, the designs- all of it!

Oh yeah, what does “cut on the bias” mean?

Hover over the pic. It’s a really flattering way to cut fabric because of the way it drapes over the skin.

K, as far as MV’s “Grecian goddess” style, this picture is one of my favorites. I GENUINELY wished we dressed like this still.

Well, alright. That’s my little tidbit of the morning. : ) I’ve just been spending a lot of time surrounded by my small army of sewing machines lately that I’m a little bit absorbed right now. And I like it.

You should click here for a little auditory tidbit by Good Old War. If you like folk…

…or maybe if you don’t!

