Tags

, , , ,

…that he may have married me for my ability to roll out homemade tortillas like it’s my job…recipe found here…complete with vows.  Ok, that might not be all the way true, and I think he was really hungry when he said it, but either way, I woke up with these little glories on my mind and thus beginning my plan for dinner. As for culinary geniuses, I’d have to give that crown to my husband who comes up with the most glorious plans for said torts. The other morning he made eggs and threw them in with sprouts and arugula and a bit of sour cream and salsa. Wonderful. Or we just keep it simple with chicken, brown rice, and some fresh toppers.

I usually don’t post on Mondays, but this weekend was just SO good around the farm, it deserved a little reflection. Saturday was  a most perfect day of staying at home with the husband. We connected with the farm after brunch and Brian, Joel, and I  planted one and a half hoop houses to overflowing.

One hoop house is known as the “Salsa Hut,” and we filled it with all sorts of tomatoes and various hot peppers ranging from Cayennes, pepperoncinis, these beautiful striped Hot Fish Thai peppers, and a range of jalapenos. Phew!!! It’s good pain, though, right?! Also sauce tomatoes, sun dried tomatoes, cherries, and other luscious morsels of late summer joy. It was so satisfying to be out in the sun- slowly turning into tomatoes ourselves- conversing and listening to Brian rejoice over all of his saved seed children as we tucked them all into their new warm beds. What an amazing feeling it must be to fill these greenhouses with valuable and nutritious heirloom foods all grown from last year’s bounty- no new costs for this self-sustained farm! We are so blessed by their generosity in sharing their bounty with us as we all work together…

Almost all work here is done using only manpower, so after planting all those fruit crops (we try to follow the bio-dynamic calendar) on Saturday, we worked weeding our own smaller garden, and Joel worked scything the yard as I raked the freshly cut grass into multiple long rows across the yard. We learned this way from the farm as well; after a few days drying in the sun and being flipped a couple times, you now have the perfect mulch for your garden beds and aisles. If you have your own lawn, there’s no reason to spend money on hay or other mulches when, after understanding how permaculture works, you realize these resources are already here all around you. Joel made a delicious sun tea from green tea and mint from the yard after we came back from milking the goats earlier that morn; so perfect after all that work.

not a clear pic, but i had to be quick to capture these silly friends : )

Later that afternoon, Brian loaded my arms down with fresh rhubarb from a bush that looked absolutely prehistoric, and I proceeded to make that rhubarb crisp from the Moosewood Cookbook. Yum! Joel came into the kitchen later, stopped and looked at me and said, “Aw! You’re making rhubarb crisp and you’re barefoot in the kitchen!”

You know those days where you feel like you’ve arrived? This weekend was truly one or two of them…in all honesty, my kitchen is just a big mess this morning and Joel is back at work, but it’s all about savoring those moments and ignoring the messes you need to so you don’t miss anything that could truly be special. These are sweet days and you know what? It’s back to pouring rain outside, and my feet are freezing despite my wigwams and slippers, and I have all the time in the world to clean that kitchen.

But happily, under my wool sweater, my shoulders have a tight, sun-kissed feeling to remind me of that contented togetherness less than 48 hours ago…

