Tags

, , , , , , ,

  Film by Tiger in a Jar  Music by Bexar Bexar,

Original Source found here for Kinfolk Mag…

I had a pretty epic moment the other day…see, I’ve been baking bread for years. My mom got me a gorgeous bread bowl, I committed to keeping store-bought white bread out of my home (except for the occasional passer-by), and I have kept strong arms for kneading. This spring, however, I seemed to go through this horrible season where every loaf of bread that came out of my homey little kitchen was a complete disaster. What the heck?! I followed the recipe card exactly, then I followed another recipe card exactly, and then another…

Finally, in a state of {pregnant-at-the-time} emotional distress, I called my mother.

Here comes the heavy-revy.

Over the next half hour, my very sweet, patient, and passionate bread-maker of a mom unraveled a few years of incorrect bread-making “analysis” and led me back to the original ways of artisan bread-making. She reminded me to let the bread lead me through the process of being born from the oven and to {mostly} throw out the recipe card ideology. To return to “feeling” the bread, trying new things if old ways aren’t working, to return to the sweet meditation that is making two warm loaves of fresh, wholesome bread, and mostly, to stop being so critical. Aw, thanks Mom… I can picture years of my mom’s arms plunged deep into her brown bowl, flour sprinkled on the counter, and me reaching up to the counter to pull fingerfuls of smooth dough from the rising, round mass… Turns out, my bread just didn’t like the certain kind of whole-wheat flour I had been using all spring {regardless of recipe card instructions}…I just wasn’t listening…

Once that yeast touches that warm water, life enters your bread bowl- and your kitchen, really. This is so much more than combining precise measurements of ingredients like they are themselves a magic formula and expecting perfection. The perfection is in the process and in loving those loaves from the first pour of warm water right into fresh slices-which still delight my husband every time it happens- success or not, for the kitchen still smells wonderful every time I try my hand at that big silver bowl…

Watch the video- It encouraged me to return to an original way. And it’s beautiful…

