Tags

, , , , , , ,

I suffer happily from wanderlust. Though I think I have reigned in my longing to “go” back into a healthy balance, I still find myself looking off into horizons with a tiny sigh {or a big one-depending on the day!} I love looking at this picture with its long brown, dusty road headed to Rio Savane and I’m reminded that it is oh so very important to heed that longing once in awhile- to truly live connected to this world we inhabit. It is important to stay centered enough to hear the quiet creaking of an opening door, furled sails when they begin to lightly rustle in the breeze, and to listen to that gnawing deep inside your soul. Like the Gypsy proverb says, “the winter will ask what you did all summer…” inlumen Mozambique 2008.

xo

We all need to break away and travel more-even for a weekend trip, or to take an alternate route home from work. Joel was reading this poem to me by Walt Whitman the other day. He makes it sound so easy!! It’s called “Song of the Open Road.”xo

“Afoot and light-hearted I take to the open road,

Healthy, free, the world before me,

The long brown path before me leading wherever I choose.”xo

“Henceforth I ask not good-forture, I myself amgood-fortune,

Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing

Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criticisms,

Strong and content I travel the open road.”xo        Saucy ladies- who do they think they are?! (It is Boho Friday, after all :)

—-+…..

“The earth, that is sufficient,

I do not want the constellations any nearer,

I know very well where they are,

I know they suffice for those who belong to them.”xo

“You doors and ascending steps! you arches!

You gray stones of interminable pavements! you troddencrossings!

From all that has touch’d you I believe you have imparted to yourselves, and now

would impart the same secretly to me,”

xo

“All seems beautiful to me […] Now if a thousand perfect men were to appear it would not amaze me,

Now if a thousand beautiful forms of women appear’d it would not astonish me.

Now I see the secret of making the best persons,

It is to grow in the open air and to eat and sleep with the earth…”

-Walt Whitman

