Tags

, , , , , , ,

Oh Montana….

We just so happened to move a few miles away from the headwaters of the Missouri River. Instantly I feel this deep connection with the old age of this land… I deeply desired (and prayed) that once again we would get to live near a great river since leaving the deep waters of the Columbia tore a little part of my soul away when we moved from Eastern Washington. (I’ve always felt deeply a sense of place where ever I’ve lived and location is an incredibly meaningful part of my life.) So when we learned about these lands, I thought, Ok, I can get behind this, haha! Where we relocated happens to be the spot that the Madison, Jefferson, and Gallatin Rivers converge into the Missouri, travel, and eventually empty into the Gulf of Mexico… I wanted a meaningful river…touche. {“e” with a thing on top because I can’t figure out how to do that on this computer. Translation: I don’t want to try.)

Anyway, since moving here, we’ve spent a lot of time on the Madison, as it’s become our favorite little spot here.

Oh fall berries and wide, open spaces…

It’s been nice having the familiarity of living close to a river again. I’m definitely more of a river person than an ocean person.

Before we left the farm, I picked these two little bundles of color for two Bellingham friends from the flower garden I planted when I was pregnant with Haven. It was just coming into full bloom the week we left… The bouquets were exchanged for hugs, a pair of boots for a colder fall, and a bag of frozen blueberries to cool our August drive east…

A few weeks ago, that sage bundle-crumpled, sadly- was replaced with some fresh Montana sage and later wrapped back up in scarlet…new days, new days…

November finds me grateful.

-{e}

